My Ah-ha moment

I’ve learned a lot about PR since I got my job at a marketing communications firm in Downtown Stillwater, and I’m sure I’ve taken in a lot more valuable information and experience than I even realize. One thing I definitely understand more than I did before is the astounding affect a college education can have on your value as a professional.

I enjoy being a public relations assistant, but there are times I feel like I am getting paid an awful lot for doing what feels like nothing.

My favorite (and easiest) task at work is to look at websites and old campaigns of new clients and evaluate what they are doing- was the old campaign effective? What were its strengths and weaknesses? Are they reaching their target audience? Are they sending the right message? What are they doing well? How could they improve?

Tasks like this are fun and easy, and it’s hard to believe that I’m getting paid for them. But could just anyone do what I do? After some thought, I don’t think so.

I’ve learned a lot in my PR classes, but one of the most valuable things I have learned is critical thinking from a marketing/PR perspective.

It’s something I didn’t have to memorize or study, and I never had a test over it. But it has found its way deep into my mind through repeated discussion and interesting case studies talked about in class. And that’s part of what makes me a valuable employee. That’s why I will be one of the few who is paid more for doing (what feels like) less.

Before my internship, I did not realize that a lot of my value already resided in my mind. I thought I would never have a good understanding of how PR works, and that I would always be playing catch-up with my superiors.

I did not realize how well my classes have prepared me. Yes, I still have a lot to learn, and yes, I will make a lot of mistakes. But the seeds are sewn that will allow me to face new professional challenges, and I will be able to do my job well. And I will love it.

Leave a Reply

