What are your hobbies?

During a recent interview, I was asked about my hobbies. 

Hobbies? I thought. What hobbies? I go to school, I work, and I try as hard as I can to have a life without putting the previous two things in jeopardy. Who has time for hobbies?

So I started thinking. What do I like to do? I am addicted to crossword puzzles and I love snacking on Tostitos salsa with tortilla chips. I enjoy a good wine now and then, and I love to read. But wait! I haven’t actually read a book for pleasure since…the ninth grade?

Surely, I am not the only over-achiever who has fallen victim to this heinous academic disease that rips out tiny parts of who you are a little bit at a time, without you even noticing? I was an avid reader. Stories were my sanctuary. Where have I gone?

So, last weekend, I went to the bookstore just like I used to do and started flipping through whatever jumped out at me in the literature section. And I spent 17 precious dollars on a “Me Talk Pretty One Day” because I admired Sedaris’s writing style. 

And you know what? I’ve found plenty of time between classes, before bed, and on the bus to dedicate to my long-lost hobby.  And I love it. 

So here’s what I am suggesting: 

Take a moment and think about what you used to do in your spare time. What used to be important to you? What stimulated you? 

Find that thing, whatever it was, and try to reconnect with it. 

If you can’t think of anything, try something new. Try something you’ve always wanted to do. Art? Photography? Yoga? Cooking?

We can get bogged down in the world of work and school and errands and paperwork and scholarships and applications and problems and everything else that goes on day-to-day. 

Try to make time for something you enjoy. It might surprise you how easy it is. And it might make you really happy. 

I hope you accept my challenge! If you do, let me know how it goes!

5 responses to this post.

  1. Good post. Having a hobby, or at least an interest, makes a person interesting. As a side, David Sedaris is intelligently hysterical – interesting you found him in the fiction section. My wife and I saw him perform the last time he was in Tulsa.

    Reply

  2. Posted by hayfwood on March 4, 2009 at 5:30 am

    I agree with your suggestion and feel compelled to take it seriously. I got two great books for Christmas and have yet to read either of them. Where does my time go? I’m going to start taking note of that more often now.

    Reply

  3. Posted by celcash on March 4, 2009 at 9:37 pm

    Great post! I think pretty much any college student out there can relate. I have been in love with reading since I first learned how, and up until I began college I would read in any spare moment I found. Now those moments are harder to find, and there seem to be so many things that are more important when I do have the time. But you make a good point that we should take time out to do something that we enjoy and could make us happy. I think I’ll take your suggestion!

    Reply

  4. Posted by allisonbroyles on March 11, 2009 at 3:45 pm

    Thanks all! Bill, I actually am not sure whether i found him in the fiction section- come to think of it, I think it just said “literature.” I went back and changed the post. He is hilarious, though. I’ve been watching his readings on YouTube via my iPhone on the bus and before classes and I’m almost embarrassed because I laugh so much at them and no one around me knows why…

    Reply

  5. Great post! David Sedaris is hilarious. If you haven’t read Naked, you should. Amazing. You have a very good point, too. We often let stuff we enjoy fade away in our pursuit of success and busyness. I’ve been trying to read more lately, like you suggested, and it’s so much more enjoyable than TV, too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

