Hello, Mr. Moneybags

So I’ve decided I need to marry rich. After hearing our speaker from the Regional Food Bank of Oklahoma, I know I’m a non-profit personality. 

I had a suspicion before but I chose to ignore it. I used to volunteer with YMCA and then I worked for them for years- I loved the feeling that I was helping kids. 

I’ve always wanted to do something that was helping others. And I’ve always loved kids. My favorite project at work was when we started doing PR for Stillwater Public Schools and I got to plan ways to promote the school and improve communication and leadership within the school and community. 

When I walked in the schools to interview the principals, I immediately felt happy and comfortable. It felt so good to be in a place that I knew was benefiting kids- helping them learn, express themselves, and giving them positive role models. 

I am going to end up doing some sort of non-profit or school PR. Neither pays well, I know, but it’s who I am. I want to make money! I want to live comfortably! 

Looks like I’m going to have to marry rich.

3 responses to this post.

  1. I’ve decided the same thing, or at least I’ve accepted the fact that an over-abundance of money won’t be in my future.

    When did you work for the Stillwater Public Schools? Any ideas what you want to do after you graduate?

    Reply

    • Posted by allisonbroyles on February 9, 2009 at 2:53 pm

      I am working for SPS right now with my company, O’Neill Marketing Communications. We just led their identity campaign that resulted in a new logo and wordmark. Now we are focusing on getting the community and parents and students more aware of and involved in activities across all the local schools. We’re working with the Stillwater NewsPress and working on ideas including Facebook for students and alumni, and a hopefully a new SPS Web site. It’s fun! I especially like the internal relations planning…although I’m not really thinking that’s something we’re going to be focusing on (on which we’re going to focus…ughk.)

      Reply

  2. Posted by marissalcha on February 23, 2009 at 12:01 am

    I also have been thinking about working in non-profit. Recently I have thought about doing PR in sports, but I have a feeling that no matter what route I take I will end up in non-profit. I love doing volunteer work because it just makes me feel like I am making a difference in someone’s life. Every summer I volunteer at Texas Scottish Rite Hospital in Dallas, which is an orthopedic hospital for kids. Every surgery, check-up and x-ray is absolutely free. It is just an AMAZING hospital. I may be doing an internship for them this summer. You really have to love what you’re doing when working in non-profit, so it’s great that you love working with kids. Goodluck with finding Mr. Moneybags, if he has a brother pass him my way.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

