My Specialty

If I were a gourmet chef of words, what would be my specialty? For hors d’oeuvres, I could serve little tidbits on French culture and language- it’s definitely an interest of mine, and I know a little more about it than most. Entire courses could be dedicated to leadership techniques, working with children, and maybe even public relations (I’m getting there!) But what would be the one thing I would pride myself on? That I would know I could do correctly, and be kind of an expert on? Definitely not cooking (ironically.) Maybe overdoing it. That is, after all, the namesake of my blog. 

I’ve always been involved in way too many things, trying to take on way too much responsibility. I always feel like I want to do everything at once. I remember having breakdowns in middle school and high school where my mother would actually have to make me stop studying, stop working on things, and go out with my friends. 

I was in eighth grade when my viola instructor noticed I was slipping in my lessons and asked my what all I’d been doing for the past couple of weeks. I listed off my classes and extracurriculars…a very tiring compilation. That’s when he said to me the words I would never forget: “Well, something’s got to give. You can’t do everything. I know you want to, but there comes a time when you have to choose. No one can do it all. Something’s got to give.” 

I stopped taking private lessons not too long after that. And I quit cheer. And tumbling. And my YMCA leadership group. 

His advice is the truest and probably the best I’ll ever get. And somehow, I keep forgetting it. When my Type A personality keeps bogging itself down with made-up deadlines and unnecessary appointments, I can still hear his voice telling me: something’s got to give. 

So I guess that’s what I’m an expert on. Stress. Wow, that’s not really something to be proud of. Or maybe it is. I accomplish a lot. I have a nice resume, a nice GPA, and other nice things I’m sure. But sometimes I wonder if it’s worth it. It doesn’t really matter whether it;s worth it I guess. It’s just who I am. 

 

So…my topic of interest? Let’s go with social media/PR itself. It’s definitely something I’m interested in. I’m still learning, but maybe I can turn this appetizer into a four-course meal. 

I’ll try not to stress about it too much.

😉

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by reinier44 on January 27, 2009 at 6:44 am

    Good stuff, I would find the specific aspect of PR that interests you the most, like event planning or crisis management and focus on that…that will help you carve a niche market and help to focus your blog…that will help you think of things to write about.

    Hope that helps!

    Reply

    • Posted by allisonbroyles on January 28, 2009 at 10:44 pm

      Thanks! I’ll think on it…I really like school PR, and I’m also digging this social media stuff as an aspect of PR itself. I’ll think about it. Great advice!

      Reply

  2. Posted by Achiemecoro on February 9, 2009 at 9:31 pm

    Hi, cool site, good writing 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

